Madhya Pradesh makes record of procurement

Chief Minister Mr Shivraj Singh Chauhan felicitated Dr Rajesh Rajora Principal Secretary, Agriculture Dept for procurement of 20 lakh MT (worth Rs 8,500 Cr) of Gram, Lentil and Mustard at MSP from 10 lakh farmers under Price Support Scheme in Rabi Marketing Season 2018-19.





CM Shri Chouhan congratulates team of officials involved in procurement
Guidelines for procurement system to be prepared

Bhopal : Thursday, June 21, 2018, 21:06 IST

 Chief Minister Shri Shivraj Singh Chouhan today congratulated the officials of the departments concerned for completing crop procurement in the state with unprecedented success. Shri Chouhan said that procurement of wheat, paddy, gram, moong and mustard was a challenging task. Many major decisions were taken and many difficulties came afore. Successful and peaceful procurement is a great achievement for Madhya Pradesh despite the odd conditions

Shri Chouhan instructed to systematically study the system of ideal procurement and prepare a guideline. He said that other states are also influenced by Madhya Pradesh’s ideal procurement system and want to know that the strategy for successful procurement.

Make plan for marketing in districts

The Chief Minister said that there is need to work on planning for marketing of agriculture produce in all the districts. He said that in order to use maximum information technology in making procurement system more effective, a workshop of experts should be organised. Discussion should continue on better measures for doubling farmers’ income. Shri Chouhan instructed to carry out study of procurement system in Bihar and Kerala.

Farmers got Rs 19 thousand 500 crore

In the Rabi year 2018-19, procurement of 73.13 lakh metric tonne wheat was made from 96 lakh farmers, 19.2 lakh metric tonne gram, lentils and mustard was procured from 7.33 lakh farmers. Total 19 thousand 500 crore amount was distributed to farmers.

 On the occasion, Chief Secretary Shri BP Singh, Commissioner of Agricultural Production, Shri PC Meena, Principal Secretary Agriculture, Dr Rajesh Rajora, Principal Secretary Food, Smt Neelam Shami Rao, Principal Secretary Cooperatives, Shri KC Gupta, Principal Secretary Shri Vivek Agrawal, Mandi Commissioner, Shri Faiz Ahmed Kidwai, Shri Abhishek Yadav of Food Corporation of India, Shri Abhishek Singh of NAFED, Abrahim Varghese of NIC and other officers were present.